Inner Center

The most compositions start with the mood I have at that moment. I felt confused and needed a song that helps me to find a way to clear my thoughts. I searched for my inner center. The place in my mind I go back to when I have lost my way. So, the name of the song was set.

My work started with the beat as most times. The chords I wanted to choose should bring me out of every tension. The sound I choose for is as necessary as the basic chord itself. Most times I sit hours on it for the programming. The sound is a part of the composition, because the harmonies in it coalesce with the basic chord. Next followed the bass line, as simple as possible, just to settle the mood I captured so far.

I early felt in love with the sound of the Hawaiian guitar. Its open release and clear sound brings me in a good mood. But as an artist I ever search for possibilities to expand what already exists. So, I chose no guitar to generate that sound again, but a harp-guitar simulator that creates nearly the same basic sound. It let me edit harmonics, envelopes and dynamics. As the basic sound was created plus my favourite analogue hall, I started to improvise by playing over the existing background. I composed two melodies I liked and didn’t wanted to miss one of it. So I had the idea to use one for the text- and one for the refrain- song part. Now it works like a singer, not like a part of the background instrumental.

The first arrangement followed. The bridge is ever a challenge to me. It takes a long time to find something here to make it a special one until all falls back into the endless harmony of the refrain. Now it was necessary for me to find a distance to the created composition. It helped to rate what I have done so far. So, I started two weeks later with clean ears to do the final arrangement and mixdown.

The essence is what I wanted to here, in hope you like it too…

